OAKMONT, Pa. -- Dustin Johnson is facing a possible rules violation that could impact his standing during the final round of the U.S. Open.
Johnson backed off from a par putt on the fifth green Sunday afternoon, then summoned a rules official as he apparently had seen his ball move.
If it is deemed that Johnson caused the ball to move, he would be hit with a one-stroke penalty. Johnson made the putt and his score was listed as par.
But United States Golf Association officials told Johnson during the final round that they would review it after the round. If he is deemed to have committed a violation, Johnson will get hit with an extra penalty stroke.
"We put him on notice,'' said Jeff Hall, the USGA's managing director of competitions. Hall also said during the Fox broadcast that Johnson told him he didn't feel he did anything to cause the ball to move. "We have some concerns,'' Hall said.
If was deemed that Johnson caused the ball to move, he would be penalized under Rule 18-2b.
Johnson had a 6-footer for par. He took two practice strokes, then put his putter behind the ball and immediately recoiled as the ball barely moved. It is not necessary for Johnson to have touched the ball for it to be decided that he caused it to move. It could also simply be the very fast green speeds.
Several players, including Rory McIlroy and Jordan Spieth, spoke out on Twitter in defense of Johnson.
This is ridiculous... No penalty whatsoever for DJ. Let the guy play without this crap in his head. Amateur hour from @USGA
— Rory McIlroy (@McIlroyRory) June 19, 2016
Lemme get this straight.. DJ doesn't address it. It's ruled that he didn't cause it to move. Now you tell him he may have? Now? This a joke?
— Jordan Spieth (@JordanSpieth) June 19, 2016
Johnson told he may lose stroke after match.@JordanSpieth @McIlroyRory w/ you boys! The fact that the @usga thinks that DJ caused the ball to move is completely ridiculous! Laughable!
— Rickie Fowler (@RickieFowler) June 19, 2016
Aucun commentaire:
Enregistrer un commentaire